About Us

Evelyn Dietsche

Panel Member
Evelyn Dietsche

Evelyn is a German national with over 25 years of operational and strategic-managerial experience in the multinational corporate sector and the international advisory and consultancy business. She has held key roles working out of the United Kingdom and has also held roles with the Namibian government, with academia and think-tanks, and, most recently, with a not-for-profit peace and conflict research and practice institute affiliated with the University of Basel, Switzerland.

A recognized international expert on resource governance, Evelyn brings extensive practical knowledge on natural resources governance, including on conflicts over rights to resources linked to climate change, climate policies and the energy transition. She has also taught, supervised, published and peer reviewed research on these and other relevant topics.

Evelyn’s wide-ranging experiences have focused on sustainability, responsible business conduct, social performance, conflict sensitivity, and public policy, fiduciary and political-economic risk analysis. Her work has spanned a broad portfolio of complex and sensitive issues, including dealing from different perspectives with multiple and cumulative socio-economic impacts of large-scale investments in fragile and conflict-affected contexts.

Based on the depth and breadth of her very solid experience, Evelyn will bring valuable insights to the Inspection Panel along with good judgment and the ability to balance complex issues and consider competing demands while remaining independent and objective.

Evelyn holds a Doctorate degree in Resources Sector Governance from the Centre for Energy, Petroleum and Mineral Law and Policy (University of Dundee, Scotland), an MSc in Development Economics from the School of Oriental and African Studies (University of London), and an MA in Public Policy and Management from Konstanz University (Germany).

Evelyn was selected for this position through an international competitive recruitment process. Her appointment is for a term of five years effective April 8th, 2024.